Cycling National Championship : Simo Sando Emerges Champion

He covered the 152 km long distance between Mbalmayo and Ebolowa in four hours, six minutes and 18 seconds.


The cycling national championship took place on Saturday August 27th with Simo Sando Dieunedort taking over from Arthur Tella as Cameroon of champion. He did the 152km long distance between Mbalmmayo and Ebolowa in 4h05”13 to clinch the title. He was closely followed by Kamzong Abessolo in the second position and Sikandji Ghislain in the third place.  It is worthy to note that this is the fifth consecutive time the SNH Velo club is winning the championship title despite the fact the main cyclists of the club are under suspension and didn’t take part in the race. Meanwhile in the junior category, Joel Zang who won the Centre Regional championship, emerged national champion, followed by the champion of the Littoral Region, Kemtsop Ismael in the second position and Toumeni Franky, third.

According to the national technical director for cycling, the championship race enabled him to detect fresh talents like Joel Zang, Kemtsop Ismael who could be called up to the national selection. He said that the national selection will soon be going into camp to prepare for the 16th edition of the Grand Prix Chantal Biya. The president of the federation, Honoré Yossi disclosed that the cycling team will be going to Cote d’Ivoire before the competition saying preparations were well advanced towards the organisation of the race.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *